Farmland India
Aerial view of farm fields, a highway, a freight rail line and an industrial site near Rajpura in Patiala district, Punjab

Area guide

Buying Land in Rajpura

Patiala's northern gateway: a 1,099-acre industrial cluster, a freight corridor and farmland estimated at ₹2.5–6 crore per acre*.

  • 1,099 acres

    Cluster area

  • ₹1,367 crore

    Cluster cost

  • ₹2.5–6 cr/acre*

    Estimated price*

  • 8

    Villages moved

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

PLRS — Punjab Land Records Society

Micro-market record — Rajpura

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

District

Patiala, Punjab

Tehsil

Rajpura sub-division (eight villages moved to Banur sub-tehsil, Mohali, in May 2025)

Planning authority

Punjab Town and Country Planning; confirm which authority covers the village

Main road

NH-44 about 10 km, NH-7 about 7.5 km, SH-8 about 11 km (NICDC)

Land use

Wheat-paddy farmland, industrial cluster and highway edge

Pricing unit

Farmland in acres; plots in sq yd, marla (30.25 sq yd) and kanal (605 sq yd)

Estimated land price*

₹2.5–6 crore per acre*

Sub-area overview

Rajpura — Patiala's northern gateway, with a freight corridor and a manufacturing cluster

Buying land in Rajpura means buying in Patiala district's northern town, on the road and rail lines from Ambala to Chandigarh and Patiala, at the edge of the Mohali–Zirakpur growth belt. NICDC describes the Rajpura-Patiala integrated manufacturing cluster as 1,099 acres, 45 km south-west of Chandigarh, with NH-44 about 10 km away, NH-7 about 7.5 km, SH-8 about 11 km, and Rajpura Junction and a New Rajpura station on the Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor about 12 km away. That mix of highway, freight and industry is the reason land here is priced differently from a plain farm village.

We estimate farmland in the Rajpura sub-division at ₹2.5–6 crore per acre*, indicative only; land with road frontage or zoning can price well above that. Each parcel has to be judged on road frontage, zoning and distance to the highway, not on a headline rate. The Tribune reported in May 2025 that land in eight villages moved from Rajpura to Mohali's Banur sub-tehsil rose from about ₹2 crore to about ₹4 crore per acre after the notification, which shows how much an administrative label alone can move prices.

Read the Patiala district page for district-wide rules, the Zirakpur and Dera Bassi pages for the Mohali side of the same highway, and the state-wise land laws guide for the legal frame.

  • Eastern DFC station
  • Industrial cluster
  • NH-44 and NH-7 access
  • Estimated Price*
  • Mohali boundary effect
Locator map of Rajpura in Patiala district, Punjab

Connectivity

How Rajpura connects

Rajpura links to Chandigarh, Ambala and Patiala by road, rail and the freight corridor.

Reference points (approximate)

ChandigarhAbout 45 km south-west (NICDC, for the cluster site)
NH-44About 10 km from the cluster site (NICDC)
NH-7About 7.5 km from the cluster site (NICDC)
Rajpura JunctionAbout 12 km from the cluster site (NICDC)
New Rajpura EDFC stationAbout 12 km from the cluster site (NICDC)
AirportChandigarh International, about 45 km (NICDC)

Read this before relying on distances

The distances above are NICDC's figures measured from the cluster site, not from Rajpura town or from your parcel, and NICDC does not say how they were measured. A village on the far side of the town may be much farther from NH-44 than 10 km. We did not find a route-checked drive time from Rajpura town to Chandigarh. Check the access on a map and by driving it.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government-announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have single or conflicting sources.

01Operational

02In progress, pending, in dispute or regulatory

In progress · active development (timeline not stated) Rajpura-Patiala integrated manufacturing cluster
Operational · freight corridor in the belt Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor, New Rajpura station
Regulatory · boundary change, May 2025 Eight villages moved from Rajpura to Banur (Mohali)
In progress · active development (timeline not stated)

Rajpura-Patiala integrated manufacturing cluster

NICDC lists a 1,099-acre cluster at a project cost of ₹1,367 crore with an investment potential of ₹7,500 crore and over 64,000 jobs. Plot sizes run from 0.5 to 35 acres at ₹3 crore per acre, and industrial land is 60% of the area. Focus industries are electronics, food and beverages, textiles, rubber and plastics, chemicals, machinery and pharmaceuticals. NICDC's page gives no completion date.

Source: NICDC, Rajpura-Patiala cluster page, read Oct 2026. Industrial plot rate, not an agricultural price; no date given

Area

1,099 acres

Project cost

₹1,367 crore

Plot rate (NICDC)

₹3 crore per acre

Jobs projected

64,000+

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rajpura
  • Patiala district
Operational · freight corridor in the belt

Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor, New Rajpura station

NICDC lists a New Rajpura EDFC station about 12 km from the cluster site. A freight station near the cluster is the logic behind the industrial plan. Whether the freight line has raised agricultural prices near Rajpura is not shown in any source we read.

Source: NICDC, read Oct 2026. Operating status of the station not checked

Station

New Rajpura

Distance (NICDC)

About 12 km

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rajpura
  • Sirhind belt
Regulatory · boundary change, May 2025

Eight villages moved from Rajpura to Banur (Mohali)

A notification dated 20 May 2025 moved Manakpur, Khera Gajju, Urna, Changera, Ucha Khera, Gurditpura, Hadayatpura and Lehlan from Rajpura sub-division to Mohali's Banur sub-tehsil. The Tribune reports land in those villages going from about ₹2 crore per acre before speculation to about ₹3 crore and then about ₹4 crore after the notification.

Source: The Tribune, 23 May 2025. Press figures, not a valuation

Villages moved

8

Notification

20 May 2025

Rate after (Tribune)

About ₹4 crore per acre

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Banur
  • Rajpura edge

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Rajpura

Rajpura's farmland is flat Malwa plain on the Ambala side; crop mix and water figures are to be confirmed locally.

Soil & crops

We found no published crop mix or soil survey for Rajpura. The wider plain is wheat-paddy country with canal and tubewell irrigation (our Punjab state page). Check the khatauni land-use entry, the recorded irrigation source and a Soil Health Card report. Data: Soil Health Card portal.

  • Wheat-paddy plain
  • Irrigated farmland
  • Highway and industrial edge

Water

CGWB classes most Punjab blocks as over-exploited, and we did not find the Rajpura block category. Look it up on CGWB. Industrial use near the cluster may add to water demand; ask about the nearest drain and any pollution notice for the village.

Mandi price reference

Wholesale prices for wheat and paddy are published on Agmarknet. We have not confirmed which regulated market serves Rajpura best.

Fenced farm plot with stone boundary markers near Rajpura, Punjab

Micro-market report — Rajpura

Farmland India view

Why buyers look at Rajpura

Reasons buyers look at this micro-market, stated with the evidence we have. Not a price forecast.

Industrial and freight anchors

A 1,099-acre manufacturing cluster and a freight station are documented by NICDC, which is more public evidence than most Punjab micro-markets have.

At the Mohali growth edge

The Tribune's report on eight villages moving to Mohali shows buyers pricing proximity to the Mohali belt.

Highway and rail access

NH-44, NH-7, a junction and a freight station sit within about 7.5 to 12 km of the cluster site.

A rate to test against

The Sub-Registrar collector rate and registered deeds let a buyer test any offer.

Listing data is not legal advice. Confirm title, land use and eligibility with the sub-registrar.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges specific to Rajpura

Specific to this micro-market, beyond the Patiala district and Punjab-wide points.

Speculative pricing

The Tribune documents a doubling of land rates in villages after a boundary notification. Prices that rise on a label can fall back, so a headline rate says little.

Industrial plot rate is not a farm rate

NICDC's ₹3 crore per acre applies to industrial plots in the cluster. Do not use it as an agricultural land price or assume farmland will reach it.

Acquisition and zoning near the cluster

Land near the cluster or the freight line may be earmarked for acquisition or industrial zoning. Ask the revenue office and the authority whether the survey number is notified.

Flood and drainage

The 2025 floods affected all 23 Punjab districts, according to the Rangla Punjab portal of the Punjab government; the Ministry of Home Affairs reported 40 deaths and 14,065 houses damaged in Punjab as of 27 November 2025. No official district ranking was found, so absence from a press list clears nothing. Ask neighbours and the revenue office for the village's flood and waterlogging history, and check how rainwater leaves the parcel. We found no village-level flood map for Rajpura.

Unauthorised colonies and PAPRA

Plots sold in colonies without approval are the most common trap near Punjab towns. The 1995 plot and apartment regulation Act (PAPRA) requires licensed colonies, and The Tribune reported that the High Court struck down the 2024 NOC waiver in April 2025; we have not read the order. Ask for the colony licence and the NOC before paying any advance, and treat a plot sold from a farm field as unapproved until shown otherwise.

CLU before you build

Agricultural land stays agricultural until the competent planning authority grants a change of land use (CLU). An application receipt is not permission. We did not check Punjab's current CLU fee schedule, so ask the authority for the written fee and the zone shown in the master plan before you price a parcel for any non-farm use.

Groundwater

CGWB's Punjab report of December 2024 put the state's stage of groundwater extraction at 156.87% and classed 115 of 153 assessment units as over-exploited. Look up the block category on the CGWB portal and ask neighbouring farmers how deep borewells now go before you pay an irrigated-land rate. We did not find a block category for this tehsil in the sources we read.

Shamlat Deh and power of attorney

Village common land (Shamlat Deh) cannot be sold, whatever a seller claims. Match every khasra against the seller's jamabandi on the Punjab land records portal, and treat a power-of-attorney sale (common with diaspora owners) as valid only if the power is registered and authorises sale.

Who can buy

Section 4 of the Punjab Land Reforms Act 1972 limits how much land a person or family may hold; we found no clause in it limiting who may buy, so we found no non-agriculturist bar for non-Shamlat land. Under Section 4(2) the permissible area is 7 hectares of two-crop irrigated land, 11 hectares of one-crop irrigated land and 20.5 hectares of barani land, with an overall cap of 21.8 hectares for mixed land and family allowances above five members. Confirm with a Punjab revenue lawyer. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land, plantation land or a farmhouse under FEMA, so this page is not a route for them.

Stamp duty and registration

Stamp duty, cess and a 1% registration fee (capped at ₹2 lakh) apply; the combined rate differs for urban and rural land and for women buyers, so confirm the current rate with the Sub-Registrar. Collector rates were raised in August 2024 (Patiala up to 100% in places) and by 5% to 50% in 12 districts by August 2025; a further statewide rise was put on hold in August 2025 (The Tribune). Confirm the current collector rate with the Sub-Registrar.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Rajpura.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can I buy agricultural land in Rajpura?

Yes if you are an Indian citizen; we found no clause in Section 4 of the Punjab Land Reforms Act 1972 limiting who may buy non-Shamlat land, subject to the ceiling and FEMA limits for NRIs. Rule out Shamlat Deh and check the zone before paying.

Transparency

Sources for this page

  • Cluster size, connectivity, plot sizes, ₹3 crore per acre industrial rate, ₹1,367 crore cost — NICDC, Rajpura-Patiala cluster page, read Oct 2026
  • Eight villages moved to Banur and land rates — The Tribune, 23 May 2025
  • Punjab context — Farmland India Punjab state page (secondary sources)
  • Punjab ownership and ceiling — Punjab Land Reforms Act 1972, s.4(2) (plrs.org.in, Act text); collector rates — The Tribune, 8 Aug 2024 and 13 Aug 2025 (secondary); stamp duty and registration rates not confirmed, ask the Sub-Registrar
  • NOC waiver strike-down (reported April 2025) — The Tribune, 15 May 2025 (secondary); the High Court order was not read
  • Floods of 2025 — Rangla Punjab portal (rangla.punjab.gov.in); Ministry of Home Affairs, Rajya Sabha reply of 3 Dec 2025; district-level damage not checked
  • Prices — Farmland India estimate*; collector rate to be obtained from the Sub-Registrar

General information, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Rajpura farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Rajpura — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.