Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Amritsar, Punjab

District guide

Buying Land in Amritsar

A border district with a Golden Temple demand floor: land beyond the fence, 2025 Ravi flood lines, collector rates, the Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway and what is still unconfirmed.

  • About 24.9 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • Pakistan; Attari crossing

    Border

  • Raised 5%–60% (reported 2025)

    Collector rates

  • Not confirmed; ask the Sub-Registrar

    Stamp duty

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

PLRS — Punjab Land Records Society

District land record — Amritsar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Punjab (Majha region)

Sub-divisions

Amritsar-I · Amritsar-II · Ajnala · Baba Bakala (CGWB profile); press reports also name Lopoke as a sub-division (Tribune, September 2025)

Key markets

Amritsar city fringe · Ajnala · Attari · Majitha · Baba Bakala · Rayya

Agricultural land

Open to Indian citizens: no occupation or domicile test in the Punjab Land Reforms Act text; NRIs and OCIs barred under RBI’s 2018 regulations

Border

International border with Pakistan; the Punjab stretch is 553 km (News On AIR, April 2026); the Attari Integrated Check Post is the land crossing

Demand anchors

Golden Temple pilgrimage · overseas Punjabi diaspora (Tribune, July 2026) · international airport · Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway (under construction)

Air and rail

Sri Guru Ram Dass Jee International Airport · Amritsar Junction

Size and population

About 24.9 lakh people at the 2011 Census (CGWB profile); sources disagree on the area, so none is given

Pricing unit

₹/acre (farmland) · ₹/sq yd (plots)

Local units

1 acre = 8 kanal = 160 marla · kanal = 605 sq yd · marla = 30.25 sq yd · killa = 1 acre (standard Punjab conversion; no official page opened)

Land records portal

Punjab Land Records Society (jamabandi and Fard); record-of-rights rules on the Revenue Department site

District overview

Amritsar — the Golden Temple district on the Pakistan border

Amritsar is the Majha district that holds the Golden Temple and shares the Punjab border with Pakistan, with the Attari Integrated Check Post as the land crossing. The 2011 Census counted about 24.9 lakh people (CGWB district profile); sources disagree on the district’s area, so we give none. For a buyer of farmland the district is two markets: the city and highway fringe, and the interior and border belt, where the land comes with fence-access rules and flood history. We found no sourced per-acre prices for either, so this page uses collector-rate reports instead.

The entry rules are simple. The Land Reforms Act text we read sets a holding limit but no occupation or domicile test (Punjab Land Reforms Act text), and NRIs and OCIs are barred from farmland under the RBI’s 2018 regulations. The ground is less simple. Some land lies beyond the border fence and is reached through BSF-controlled gates, and the floods of August and September 2025 swamped villages in Ajnala and Ramdas after the Ravi’s earthen embankments breached. This page puts those two facts ahead of price.

The floods are the part buyers underestimate. Down To Earth named Gurdaspur the worst-hit district, followed by Amritsar, Ferozepur and Fazilka, and reported more than 148,000 hectares of farmland submerged and over 1,400 villages flooded across 10 districts (Down To Earth, 6 September 2025). SANDRP reported that on 27 August 2025 the Ravi damaged gates at the Madhopur headworks and, after the Dhussi embankment breached at three points in Ajnala and Ramdas, entered about 40 villages (SANDRP, 29 August 2025). By 11 September the Tribune counted breaches at more than 20 places along the Ravi in Ajnala and close to 190 villages flooded in the Ajnala and Lopoke sub-divisions (Tribune, September 2025). A parcel in the Ravi flood plain should be priced as such.

Public infrastructure is large but unfinished. The Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway is opening in phases, and its three Amritsar spurs are running late: a 30 September 2026 report gives March 2028 for the first spur, a terminated contract for the second and February 2027 for the third (TrueScoop News, September 2026). We found no 2026 progress report on the Amritsar bypass, and the airport terminal expansion was still in planning in a May 2024 reply (Tribune, August 2024). Trade through Attari has been closed since the Pahalgam attack of April 2025 (Tribune, November 2025). We found no study linking these events to farmland prices, so treat a broker’s claim that the border will lift values as unproven. Ajnala and Attari have their own pages: see Ajnala and Attari.

  • Golden Temple
  • Border with Pakistan
  • Ravi floodplain
  • Ajnala
  • Attari
  • Majitha
  • Baba Bakala
  • Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway
Locator map of Amritsar district in Punjab

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Amritsar

Not confirmed

Stamp duty and cess

official notification not opened; ask the Sub-Registrar

Varies

Urban, rural and women buyers

reported in 2018: 6% men, 4% women; not confirmed now

1%

Registration fee

minimum ₹50, maximum ₹2 lakh

Registration fee: a Punjab notification of 4 February 2019 sets 1% of the document value, with a minimum of ₹50 and a maximum of ₹2,00,000, for compulsorily registrable documents other than leases (Punjab Revenue Department). The notice does not name sale deeds, so reading it as covering them is our inference. Stamp duty: The Statesman reported in June 2018 that duty was 6% for a man and 4% for a woman, with the 2% rebate recovered if the land passes to a male relative within a year (The Statesman, June 2018). In March 2023 the state waived 2.25% of additional duty and fees for that month (Tribune, March 2023). We did not open a current rate notification, so treat these as dated reports and get the figure from the Sub-Registrar before budgeting.

Collector (DC) rates are the government’s reference values for land (Tribune, August 2024). The state began raising them in August 2024, starting with Patiala. Amritsar’s rates were reported raised by 5% to 60% in 2025: about 5% to 30% inside the city and 50% to 60% in some peripheral areas, against a state stamp and registration revenue target of ₹7,000 crore. The same report says hikes proposed in other districts were put on hold after the land pooling policy was withdrawn (TrueScoop News, 13 August 2025). The Tribune had reported in May 2025 that the planned revision would be the third since 2022 (Tribune, May 2025). Look up the rate for the village before you compare offers.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Amritsar

Two markets inside one district. No sourced sale or asking prices were available, so each card says what the evidence is and what to check.

Highway belt: GT Road and NH-1 side

No sourced price

We found no dated, sourced price for land on the G.T. Road or NH-1 side. Frontage land is generally priced for commercial use rather than crops, so a road-facing quote says little about farm value. Ask for registered deeds from the same village.

Check: road frontage, land-use zone and whether the parcel sits in a planned road alignment.

Tarn Taran Road side

No sourced price

No dated price for this side was found. The Amritsar–Tarn Taran four-lane project, announced in February 2024 at ₹70 crore, had seen no work on the ground by September 2025 (Tribune, September 2025).

Check: that the locality is in Amritsar district, the land class on the jamabandi and the distance from any road project.

City-edge plots

No sourced price

Plots are priced per square yard and are a different product from farmland. We found no dated, sourced plot rate for the city edge, so none is quoted.

Check: master-plan zone, approved layout and whether the plot needs a no-objection certificate (see the legal notes above).

Border and Ajnala belt

One dated data point (2020)

We found no recent price for Ajnala, Attari or land near the fence. A June 2020 report on a 30-acre parcel at Chhiddan village, wanted for an ICAR horticulture institute, put the collector rate under ₹10 lakh per acre against the owner’s ask of ₹65 lakh (Tribune, June 2020). It is six years old and a single parcel. Do not let a broker’s quote substitute for registered deeds.

Check: whether the land lies inside or beyond the fence, flood history and the DC rate in the village.

DC rates are moving

Raised 5%–60% (reported Aug 2025)

Amritsar’s collector rates were reported raised by 5% to 60% in 2025 (TrueScoop News). The state began raising rates in August 2024, starting with Patiala (The Tribune).

Check: the current village rate at the Sub-Registrar, since the rate is the reference value for the deed.

Units: acre, kanal, marla, killa

Punjab village deals use the killa (1 acre), kanal (605 sq yd) and marla (30.25 sq yd); 8 kanal make 1 acre, and 1 acre is 4,840 sq yd. These are the standard conversions, but we opened no official page for them. Convert every quote before comparing, and read the land measurement units guide.

Connectivity

How Amritsar connects — road, rail and air

Delhi and the diaspora are the main buyer geographies. Journey times are targets or press figures and vary with how much of the new expressway is open.

By road

Attari crossingIntegrated Check Post on the Pakistan border
Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expresswayabout 670 km in total; phased opening
Delhi to AmritsarNHAI target of about four hours once complete (Business Today, Sep 2026)
Amritsar bypass (NHAI)2021 tender for a 43 km bypass; no 2026 status found (NBM&CW, Jan 2021)
Amritsar–Tarn Taran4-lane upgrade announced 2024; no work by Sep 2025 (Tribune)

By air

Sri Guru Ram Dass Jee AirportInternational airport serving Amritsar
Terminal capacityPeak hour about 2,000 passengers, 2024 (Tribune)
Easy ConnectAir India service via Delhi from 28 Jul 2026 (Tribune)
Terminal expansion₹240 crore proposed in 2020; planning stage in May 2024 (Business Traveller)
International reachover 20 international destinations via Delhi (IANS, Jul 2026)

By rail and the border

Amritsar Junctionmain-line station; schedules not checked
Attari–Wagah tradeclosed since 23 Apr 2025; no reopening found (Tribune, Nov 2025)
Other tradePakistan trade under embargo since Aug 2019 (PANJ)
Metronone; Centre had received no proposal as of Dec 2024 (Tribune)
Afghan tradeAfghan imports stopped by about April 2025 (Tribune)

The practical connectivity question is the last leg: where a parcel meets a road that stays open in the monsoon. The Amritsar spurs are the part of the expressway most relevant here. TrueScoop News reported on 30 September 2026 that Spur I (16.9 km) was 28.64% complete with a deadline revised to March 2028, that the contract for Spur II (30.05 km) was terminated, and that Spur III (29.70 km) is expected in February 2027 (TrueScoop News, 30 September 2026). In February 2025 the Amritsar MP said ₹749.67 crore of compensation was still undisbursed for the Amritsar stretch (Tribune, February 2025). See the Punjab agricultural land rules for buyer eligibility.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Announced timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm have single, old or conflicting sources.

01Operational

04In progress, planned or suspended

Under construction · phased, Amritsar spurs delayed Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway
Reported tender 2021 · no 2026 status found Amritsar bypass and ring road
MHA letters Apr 2026 · scope undisclosed Border road, fence relocation and BSF infrastructure
Operational · expansion proposed Sri Guru Ram Dass Jee International Airport
Suspended · closed since Apr 2025 · confirm Attari–Wagah trade route
Under construction · phased, Amritsar spurs delayed

Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway

A greenfield corridor of about 670 km (667 km in Swarajya, 17 July 2026; NHAI’s September 2026 update uses about 680 km, per Business Today). On 17 July 2026 a 157.92 km stretch covering packages one to five was inaugurated at Jind in Haryana. TrueScoop News reported on 30 September 2026 that completion is phased: a 30.9 km Punjab package was inaugurated in July 2026, three packages were foreclosed and re-bid, Spur I of the Amritsar connection was 28.64% complete with a March 2028 deadline, Spur II’s contract was terminated and Spur III is expected in February 2027. An NHAI official put the whole corridor at March 2027 in February 2026 (Daily Excelsior).

Source: TrueScoop News, 30 Sep 2026; Swarajya, 17 Jul 2026; Daily Excelsior, Feb 2026; The Tribune, Feb 2025

Length

~670 km

Amritsar spur

3 spurs: 16.9, 30.05, 29.70 km

Spur I

28.64% (Sep 2026)

Target

Mar 2027 (NHAI); spur I Mar 2028

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Amritsar
  • Raja Sansi
  • Majitha
  • Ajnala
Reported tender 2021 · no 2026 status found

Amritsar bypass and ring road

A January 2021 trade report on an NHAI tender (₹731.24 crore) described a 43 km greenfield Amritsar bypass from the new Tarn Taran Road to Ajnala Road, plus a 49.9 km upgrade of NH-354 on the Amritsar–Khemkaran road (NBM&CW, January 2021). It did not call the project a ring road, so the 98 km ring road cited on our earlier page is unconfirmed. We found no 2026 progress report; check with NHAI.

Source: NBM&CW, 12 Jan 2021 (trade report; single source)

Length

43 km bypass (2021 tender)

Cost

₹731 crore (2021 tender)

NH-354 upgrade

49.9 km

Status

Confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Chabba
  • Khasa
  • Ajnala Road
  • Tarn Taran Road
MHA letters Apr 2026 · scope undisclosed

Border road, fence relocation and BSF infrastructure

In April 2026 the Ministry of Home Affairs asked the Deputy Commissioners of Ferozepur, Tarn Taran, Amritsar, Gurdaspur, Pathankot and Fazilka for a social impact survey on moving the fence toward the zero line (News On AIR, 13 April 2026). The Chief Minister was quoted as saying lakhs of acres would fall inside the fenced area; no acreage or village list was given. The BSF said in December 2024 that the existing fence is old and is being rebuilt to a new design (The Tribune, 2 December 2024). We found no notified alignment, law or timeline for moving the fence.

Source: News On AIR, 13 Apr 2026; The Tribune, 2 Dec 2024

Districts

6 border districts

MHA letters

Apr 2026

Law

Not confirmed

Acreage

Not disclosed

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Attari
  • Ajnala
  • Border villages
Operational · expansion proposed

Sri Guru Ram Dass Jee International Airport

Air India’s Easy Connect hub-and-spoke service via Delhi began on 28 July 2026, and IANS reported access to more than 20 international destinations, up from seven direct ones (Tribune, 26 July 2026; IANS, 28 July 2026). A ₹240 crore terminal expansion was announced in October 2020, lifting capacity from 2.5 to 5.5 million passengers a year (Business Traveller, 6 October 2020); in a May 2024 RTI reply the Airports Authority said the expansion was in the planning stage (Tribune, 1 August 2024). We found no reliable recent passenger count, so none is quoted.

Source: Business Traveller, 6 Oct 2020; The Tribune, 1 Aug 2024; The Tribune, 26 Jul 2026; IANS, 28 Jul 2026

Hub-and-spoke

From 28 Jul 2026

Expansion

₹240 crore (2020 plan)

Capacity plan

2.5 to 5.5 mppa (plan)

Expansion status

Planning (May 2024)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Raja Sansi
  • Majitha Road
  • Ajnala Road
Suspended · closed since Apr 2025 · confirm

Attari–Wagah trade route

Trade with Pakistan through the Attari Integrated Check Post has been under an embargo since August 2019, and trade with Afghanistan through Attari stopped after the Pahalgam attack of April 2025 (PANJ, 24 May 2025). The Cabinet Committee on Security ordered the check post closed on 23 April 2025, and by November 2025 importers had received no regular Afghan shipments for about seven months (Tribune, November 2025). Cold storage and warehouses built for the trade now sit underused. We found no 2026 status, so check before relying on a trade-led demand story.

Source: PANJ, 24 May 2025; The Tribune, Nov 2025; The Tribune, Oct 2025

Trade

Closed Apr 2025

Pakistan trade

Embargo Aug 2019

Idle assets

Cold stores, godowns

2026 status

Not found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Attari
  • Wagah
  • Amritsar

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Amritsar

Majha plains where border strips, canal supply and the 2025 flood line matter as much as soil.

🌾 Plains and canal command (Amritsar, Majitha, Baba Bakala)

No district soil survey or crop-area table was read, so soil type, cropping and rainfall are not stated; the CGWB district profile gives two different rainfall figures (542 mm and 680 mm) (CGWB profile). Down To Earth described the farmland submerged in the 2025 floods across Punjab as mostly paddy (Down To Earth). Ask the Tehsildar’s office for village soil and crop records.

  • Plains
  • Paddy
  • Canals
  • Tubewells

🛡️ Border strip and land beyond the fence

Press reports put 21,300 to 21,600 acres of farmland between the fence and the zero line, across 220 villages in six districts (Al Jazeera, March 2021; The Tribune, December 2021). Owners reach it between 10am and 4pm on weekdays with a BSF identity card, which a farmer leader said limits cultivation to about 200 days a year (Al Jazeera). A 2015 High Court order set compensation at ₹10,000 per acre a year; farmers said in 2021 that payments had stopped for three to four years.

  • Fence
  • BSF gate
  • Zero line
  • Compensation

🌊 Ravi, dhussi bunds and the 2025 flood line

The Ravi entered about 40 villages after the Dhussi embankment breached at three points in Ajnala and Ramdas on 27 August 2025 (SANDRP). The Tribune later counted breaches at more than 20 places along the Ravi in Ajnala (Tribune, September 2025). Down To Earth blamed weak pre-monsoon strengthening of the embankments (Down To Earth). The state announced ₹20,000 per acre for affected farmers and let owners remove and sell silt deposited on their fields until 15 November 2025 without a permit (Down To Earth, 8 September 2025). The revised relief schedule placed before the Assembly gave ₹6,800 to ₹20,000 per acre for 75% to 100% crop loss and ₹7,200 per acre for desilting (Tribune, September 2025). Ask for flood history, not just a map.

  • Ravi
  • Dhussi bund
  • Silt
  • Ajnala

💧 Water & groundwater

The CGWB’s 2024 assessment classes 115 of Punjab’s 153 assessment units as over-exploited (75.16%), with state-wide extraction at 156.87% of recharge (CGWB, December 2024). The excerpt we read had no Amritsar row. An older CGWB district profile, with data to 2012, put district-wide extraction at 179% with every block over-exploited, and Ajnala block was notified by the Central Ground Water Authority on 27 November 2012 (CGWB Amritsar profile). Check borewell depth and canal supply before assuming a farmhouse water source.

📐 Measurement units & market prices

Village deals use killa, kanal and marla (conversions are in the first section). Price a parcel on location, road access and flood and border status, not on yield; we read no mandi price series for this page.

At a glance

Amritsar vs. its neighbours

District / beltReference point*Evidence
Amritsar: city and peripheral areasCollector rates raised about 5%–30% in the city, 50%–60% in some peripheral areasReported, August 2025 (TrueScoop News)
Amritsar: Attari area (2020)Collector rate under ₹10 lakh per acre; owner’s ask ₹65 lakh (one 30-acre parcel)Single parcel, six years old (The Tribune, June 2020)
GurdaspurNo sourced price324 villages affected by the Ravi floods (Down To Earth, 7 September 2025)
PathankotNo sourced price88 villages affected by the Ravi floods (same report)
Tarn TaranNo sourced price70 villages affected by the Beas floods (same report)

*Collector-rate reports and one dated data point, not valuations and not like-for-like. Flood counts count villages affected, not area. See the Tarn Taran page for the Beas belt, the Gurdaspur page for the Ravi side, the Pathankot page for the Shivalik edge, and the Mohali and Ludhiana pages for the larger Punjab markets.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Amritsar, Punjab

District report — Amritsar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Amritsar

Six reasoned points, with a plain note that border and flood exposure are the main discounts and that we found no sourced sale prices.

A pilgrimage and diaspora demand floor

Amritsar’s airport catchment includes a large overseas Punjabi diaspora (Tribune, July 2026), and the Golden Temple draws pilgrims. We have no sourced visitor count, so none is quoted. That demand mostly reaches plots near the city, not interior farmland.

An international airport with room to grow

Air India began its Easy Connect service via Delhi on 28 July 2026, and a terminal expansion that was in planning in 2024 would raise capacity (IANS, July 2026; Tribune, August 2024). Prices near the airport may already reflect this, so compare with the village collector rate before paying a premium.

Expressway and bypass, still unfinished

The Delhi–Amritsar–Katra Expressway spurs would change access, but the first is dated March 2028, the second has lost its contractor and the third is expected in February 2027 (TrueScoop News, September 2026). We found no 2026 report on the Amritsar bypass. Buy on today’s roads, with the new ones as an option.

A buyer pool that includes Indian citizens from anywhere

We found no domicile or occupation test in the Land Reforms Act text (Punjab Land Reforms Act text). A buyer from Delhi or Mumbai faces the same holding limit as a local, subject to clean title.

Border discount versus border premium

Land near the fence carries access limits, possible acquisition and security episodes. Some brokers sell it as a border-trade play, yet trade through Attari has been closed since April 2025 (Tribune, November 2025) and we found no price study. Treat any premium as a risk to be priced, not a promise.

Clean paperwork is the edge

Colony NOC rules have swung within a year (Tribune, May 2025) and collector rates have been raised. A buyer who reads the jamabandi, checks flood and fence status and budgets duty on the village rate is ahead of one who relies on a broker’s summary. The case for farmland here is location and permitted use, not crop yield.

Confirm title, flood history, border and fence status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

Risks & challenges in Amritsar

Read these before shortlisting in Amritsar specifically.

Flood plain and embankment breaches

The 2025 floods reached Ajnala and Ramdas villages after Dhussi embankment breaches, and Down To Earth ranked Amritsar second-worst among districts (Down To Earth, September 2025). Ask the seller for flood history and see which side of the embankment the parcel is on.

Land beyond the fence

Press reports put 21,300 to 21,600 acres between the fence and the border across six districts, reached through limited gates with BSF cards (Al Jazeera, March 2021). A buyer inherits the same limits; treat such land as a special case.

Border security and trade shocks

Trade through Attari has been closed since 23 April 2025 and had not resumed by November 2025 (Tribune, November 2025). Cross-border episodes can disrupt access and sentiment, and we found no data on their effect on prices.

Border works and fence survey

In April 2026 the Ministry of Home Affairs asked six border districts for a social impact survey on moving the fence (News On AIR, April 2026). No alignment or law has been published that we could find. Check any parcel near the fence against whatever is proposed.

Family ceiling and Shamlat Deh

Under section 4(2) of the 1972 Act the permissible area is 7 hectares of two-crop irrigated land, 11 hectares of one-crop irrigated land and 20.5 hectares of barani land (Punjab Land Reforms Act text). Village common land vests in the Panchayat and is not for private sale (Revenue Department).

Colony plots and NOC rules

A 2024 amendment that allowed registration of small plots without a no-objection certificate was struck down by the High Court in April 2025 (Tribune, May 2025). Plot buyers should ask for the current rule and the layout approval.

DC rates and thin prices

Amritsar’s collector rates were reported raised by 5% to 60% in 2025 (TrueScoop News), and we found no sourced sale prices. Collect registered deeds before bidding.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & border offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the village patwari and the Tehsildar: a patwari enters each reported transfer in the mutation register, a revenue officer must sanction it, and the jamabandi is the record of holdings (Punjab Revenue Department; Punjab Land Revenue Act, 1887). The CGWB district profile lists the tehsils as Amritsar-I, Amritsar-II, Ajnala and Baba Bakala; confirm the current list with the district office. Ask the SDM’s office whether a village falls in a proposed fence alignment. Building plans and change of land use go to the Competent Authority under the 1995 planning Act, which may be PUDA or the Department of Town and Country Planning depending on the zone; we did not confirm which applies.

Sale-deed registration is handled by the Sub-Registrar, and the village rate list is available there or from the district office. For land near the fence, the BSF issues the gate identity card after security checks, according to Al Jazeera; for the dhussi bundhs, the Tribune quoted the Department of Water Resources’ Executive Engineer on repairs. Ask each office in writing, since we could not confirm current contacts.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Amritsar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can anyone buy agricultural land in Amritsar?

Indian citizens can. The text of the Punjab Land Reforms Act, 1972 that we read has no occupation or domicile test, though section 4(2) caps holdings at 7 hectares of two-crop irrigated land, 11 hectares of one-crop irrigated land and 20.5 hectares of barani land (Punjab Land Records Society copy of the Act, a 2005 printout). NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI's 2018 regulations (Reserve Bank of India, March 2018), and village common land (Shamlat Deh) vests in the Panchayat (Punjab Revenue Department). Ask the Tehsildar about amendments since 2005.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the 2011 Census is the latest full Census; no gazette notification was opened and the legal points come from Act texts, department pages and press reports; infrastructure statuses were read on 8 October 2026 and change quickly; collector rates change often. Stamp duty could not be confirmed from an official page. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Amritsar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Amritsar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.