Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Bathinda, Punjab

District guide

Buying Land in Bathinda

Cotton-belt land in south-west Malwa, with a refinery, an airport and two road corridors: Punjab buying rules, water stress, collector-rate news and no sourced per-acre price.

  • 13.89 lakh

    Population (Census 2011)

  • About 3,367 sq km

    Area

  • Up 5%, further rise pending

    Collector rates (Aug 2025)

  • 115 of 153 units over-exploited

    Groundwater (Punjab, CGWB 2024)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

PLRS — Punjab Land Records Society

District land record — Bathinda

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Punjab (Malwa region)

Sub-divisions

4 tehsils (Bathinda · Rampura Phul · Maur · Talwandi Sabo) and 9 blocks (Bathinda · Sangat · Nathana · Rampura · Phul · Maur · Balianwali · Bhagta Bhai Ka · Talwandi Sabo) (Bathinda district portal; its table names Goniana in place of Balianwali)

Key markets

Bathinda city · Rampura Phul · Maur · Sangat · Talwandi Sabo · Raman Mandi (refinery) · Lehra Mohabbat

Agricultural land

Open to Indian citizens: the Land Reforms Act text sets a holding ceiling but no residence bar (PLRS text); NRIs and OCIs may not buy (RBI Master Direction)

Demand anchors

Cotton belt · refinery · civil airport · Ludhiana–Bathinda highway and Amritsar–Jamnagar corridor · closed thermal-plant land

Rail

Bathinda–Ferozepur Cantonment single line, 87 km (The Tribune, July 2019); other lines not checked

Size and population

About 3,367 sq km · 13.89 lakh people at the 2011 Census (CGWB district booklet, 2013)

Pricing unit

₹ per acre for larger land · ₹ per sq yd for colony plots

Local units

Revenue records give areas in acre, kanal and marla: 1 kanal = 20 marla and 8 kanal = 1 acre (standard Punjab usage; no official conversion table was opened). Take the area from the fard

Land records

Easy Jamabandi: jamabandi copies with a QR code and online mutation, launched June 2025 (The Tribune)

District overview

Bathinda — the cotton belt of south-west Malwa, with a refinery and an airport

Agricultural land in Bathinda is cotton-belt land in south-west Punjab: All India Radio's June 2025 report ranks Bathinda among the four leading cotton districts, with Fazilka, Mansa and Muktsar (AIR). CGWB's district booklet gives about 3,367 sq km and 13.89 lakh people at the 2011 Census (CGWB). The district has four tehsils (Bathinda, Rampura Phul, Maur and Talwandi Sabo) and nine blocks. The booklet reports canals irrigating 219,000 hectares and tubewells 76,000 hectares (years not stated), so water supply varies by canal reach.

Large public infrastructure sits inside the district. A refinery near Raman Mandi was reported commissioned on 29 March 2012, with crude arriving by a 1,017 km pipeline from Mundra (Digital Refining, March 2012). The older Guru Nanak Dev thermal plant at Bathinda has closed, and the Chief Minister said in October 2023 that its land would be used for public projects (The Tribune, October 2023). The civil airport at Virk Kalan is run by the Airports Authority of India (district portal). None of these makes a given farm parcel more valuable; they shape employment, roads and where the market is deeper.

We publish no per-acre price for Bathinda: listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals. The Tribune reported on 13 August 2025 that Bathinda's collector rates had risen by 5%, with a further increase for some high-value areas awaiting approval (The Tribune). That is a rate movement, not a market price.

The practical questions for a buyer are the same as elsewhere in Malwa. Is the khasra recorded as agricultural, and is the canal or tubewell water real or only claimed? Has a seller cut the land into plots without approval? Cotton income is volatile: the state's cotton area rose from 2.49 lakh acres in 2024 to 2.98 lakh acres in 2025 (AIR, June 2025), so one season says little about the next.

  • Cotton belt
  • Bathinda refinery
  • Bathinda airport
  • Rampura Phul
  • Maur
  • Talwandi Sabo
  • Canal and tubewell water
Locator map of Bathinda district in Punjab

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Bathinda

5%

Stamp duty (2017-18 audit rate)

current rate to confirm with the Sub-Registrar

6% / 4%

Men / women, as reported

press reports, 2018 and 2020

1%

Registration fee

capped at ₹2 lakh (2017-18 audit)

The Comptroller and Auditor General's report on Punjab's revenue sector records stamp duty on a sale deed at 5% of the higher of the deed value and the collector rate, a 1% social infrastructure cess and a 1% registration fee capped at ₹2 lakh, as in force in 2017-18 (CAG report, 2019). The Tribune says an earlier 3% cess was waived in July 2017 (The Tribune, February 2020), and press reports of 2018 and 2020 put the rate at 6% for men and 4% for women (The Statesman, June 2018). A woman buying in her own name gets a 2% rebate on stamp duty, or 1% on a joint registration, and a 2018 amendment reclaims it if the land passes to a male relative within a year (same Statesman report). The state also waived 2.25% in extra duty and fees for March 2023 only (The Tribune, March 2023). We opened no official current rate schedule and found no report of a change in 2025 or 2026, so treat these as the last published figures and confirm the current rate with the Sub-Registrar before budgeting.

Collector rates matter as much as the duty rate. The Tribune reported on 13 August 2025 that Bathinda's rates had risen by 5% and that a further increase for some high-value areas was awaiting approval from the Revenue Department, while 12 other districts had received rises of 5% to 50%; the wider proposal was then put on hold (The Tribune; first round 7 Aug 2024). We did not find the village-wise Bathinda list, so look up the village before pricing an offer. CLU fees, conversion charges and any affidavit or power-of-attorney costs are extra.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Bathinda

Bathinda has no sourced price series. The cards below say what we looked at and what a buyer should collect.

Farmland prices: none sourced

No per-acre figure sourced

We publish no per-acre figure for Rampura Phul, Maur, Sangat or Talwandi Sabo. Listing-site asking prices could not be traced to registered deals, and we found no sourced compensation award for the district.

Check: registered deeds from the same village and the village collector rate; there is no sourced band to anchor on.

Highway-front land: the Ludhiana–Bathinda road

Possession of over 95% of the land (Feb 2025)

Package 1 of the 75.54 km highway runs from near Rampura Phul to near Tallewal (The Tribune, February 2025). A road-front parcel in a market town is priced for roadside use, not crops, and an access-controlled road limits entry points.

Check: legal access, distance to the nearest interchange and whether the khasra appears in the NHAI acquisition notification.

Large blocks: Maur, Sangat, Rampura Phul

No price shown

We found no sourced transaction or compensation figure for large blocks in these tehsils. A "canal-fed" claim is the seller's own until the water-course record shows it.

Check: the water-course record (warabandi) and canal turn timing before accepting any "canal-fed" claim.

Closed thermal-plant land

Public land, not for sale

The Guru Nanak Dev thermal plant site is public land. In October 2023 the Chief Minister rejected a cement company's proposal for the site, said the factory would move to Lehra Mohabbat, and described a ₹115 crore bus stand; the engineers' association asked for a 250 MW solar plant instead (The Tribune, October 2023). The site matters for the city's growth direction, not as a listing.

Check: any seller claiming "near the thermal land" value; the plan was still a proposal in 2023 and we found no later decision.

Circle rates

Further rise awaiting approval (Aug 2025)

The Tribune reported on 13 August 2025 that Bathinda's collector rates had risen by 5% and that a further increase for some high-value areas awaited Revenue Department approval (The Tribune). Until the sheet in force is confirmed, any registration cost estimate can be off.

Check: the village agricultural rate with the Sub-Registrar on the day you sign the agreement.

Units: acre, kanal, marla

Punjab revenue records use kanal and marla: 1 kanal = 20 marla and 8 kanal = 1 acre (standard Punjab usage; no official conversion table was opened). Always ask for the area in the jamabandi and compare it with the area in the sale agreement. This page prices larger land per acre and plots per sq yd.

Connectivity

How Bathinda connects — road, rail and air

Distances and flight details come from the district portals and The Tribune; road times were not sourced and vary with traffic.

By road

Ludhiana–Bathinda highway75.54 km, six lanes; work restarted March 2025 (The Tribune)
Faridkot~65 km (Faridkot district portal)
Amritsar–Bathinda–Jamnagar corridor917 km whole corridor, partially completed (PIB, Feb 2024)
Haryana boundary (Sirsa)Land hurdles at Bathinda–Sirsa border villages reported in 2023 (India Blooms)
Road timesNot sourced; check current NH status

By air

Bathinda AirportCivil enclave at Virk Kalan, run by AAI (district portal)
OperationsRunway and operational area looked after by the IAF
Delhi serviceAlliance Air flight resumed 9 Oct 2023, 1:25 pm departure (The Tribune)
SuspensionFlights stopped in the pandemic; state sought resumption in Oct 2022 (The Tribune)
Current timetableNot found; check before relying on it

By rail & expressway

RailBathinda–Ferozepur Cantt single line, 87 km (The Tribune, Jul 2019)
Electrification₹223.93 crore sanctioned Sep 2018 for the line
UtilisationLine at 65% capacity in a 2017-18 survey
MetroNone

Air service is thin and changes often: flights stopped in the pandemic, and an Alliance Air Delhi flight resumed on 9 October 2023 after a gap of three and a half years (The Tribune). We found no later timetable, so treat the airport as an option, not a fixture. The highway and the Amritsar–Jamnagar corridor are the larger story for road access; see the infrastructure section for their status.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Government timelines are not guaranteed; items marked confirm rest on single, old or conflicting reports.

02Operational

03In progress or planned

Operational · since Mar 2012 Bathinda refinery (Phullokhari, near Raman Mandi)
Operational · thin service · confirm schedule Bathinda Airport (Virk Kalan)
Work restarted · completion date not found Ludhiana–Bathinda highway
Partially completed (corridor) · Bathinda section unconfirmed Amritsar–Bathinda–Jamnagar corridor
Proposal · site use undecided Closed thermal-plant land (Malout Road)
Operational · since Mar 2012

Bathinda refinery (Phullokhari, near Raman Mandi)

A refinery at Phullokari village near Raman Mandi, reported as commissioned on 29 March 2012 at 9 million tonnes a year in the trade release of that date (Digital Refining). Crude arrives by a 1,017 km cross-country pipeline from Mundra in Gujarat. We found no sourced current capacity, so none is stated.

Source: Digital Refining, 29 Mar 2012

Capacity

9 MMTPA (2012 release)

Commissioned

Mar 2012

Crude pipeline

1,017 km

Current capacity

Not sourced

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Raman Mandi
  • Talwandi Sabo
  • Bathinda
Operational · thin service · confirm schedule

Bathinda Airport (Virk Kalan)

A civil enclave at Virk Kalan, run by the Airports Authority of India, with the runway and operational area looked after by the Indian Air Force (district portal). Flights began in December 2016, stopped in the pandemic, and an Alliance Air Delhi flight resumed on 9 October 2023 after a gap of three and a half years (The Tribune). We found no later timetable or traffic figure.

Source: Bathinda district portal; The Tribune, 9 Oct 2023

Operator

AAI (civil enclave)

Runway upkeep

IAF

Delhi flight

Resumed 9 Oct 2023

Latest timetable

Not found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Bathinda
  • Virk Kalan
Work restarted · completion date not found

Ludhiana–Bathinda highway

A 75.54 km six-lane, access-controlled greenfield highway in two packages. Package 1 (about 30.3 km, ₹906.51 crore) runs from near Rampura Phul to near Tallewal and Package 2 (about 45.24 km, ₹1,555.13 crore) from near Tallewal to near Ballowal in Ludhiana (The Tribune, February 2025). NHAI had taken possession of 72.04 km, over 95% of the land, by February 2025, after contractors had left earlier over land delays (The Tribune, August 2024). The Tribune reported in March 2025 that work had finally begun (March 2025); the original target of August 2025 has passed and we found no revised date.

Source: The Tribune, 31 Aug 2024, 5 Feb and 5 Mar 2025

Length

75.54 km

Land handed over

Over 95% (Feb 2025)

Target

No revised date found

Civil cost

₹2,461.64 crore (reported)

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rampura Phul
  • Phul
  • Bathinda
  • Barnala side
Partially completed (corridor) · Bathinda section unconfirmed

Amritsar–Bathinda–Jamnagar corridor

PIB's 7 February 2024 list of greenfield corridors lists the whole Amritsar–Bhatinda–Jamnagar corridor as 917 km and "partially completed"; the figure covers four states (PIB). India Blooms reported in May 2023 that work faced hurdles at Bathinda–Sirsa border villages and that protests were suspended after compensation awards were raised (India Blooms). We found no 2025 or 2026 status for the Bathinda section, so we cannot say how much is built or where exits fall.

Source: PIB, 7 Feb 2024; India Blooms, 22 May 2023

Length

917 km (whole corridor)

Cost

₹22,767 crore (reported, 2023)

Local hurdle

Border villages (2023)

Status

Confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Bathinda
  • Border villages
  • Sirsa side
Proposal · site use undecided

Closed thermal-plant land (Malout Road)

The Guru Nanak Dev thermal plant has closed. In October 2023 the Chief Minister said the land would serve public projects, rejected a cement-factory proposal and described a ₹115 crore bus stand; the engineers' association asked for a 250 MW solar plant instead (The Tribune). We found no later decision.

Source: The Tribune, 9 Oct 2023

Plant

Closed

Bus stand

₹115 crore (plan)

Solar ask

250 MW

Decision

Not found

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Bathinda city
  • Malout Road

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Bathinda

Flat cotton land in south-west Malwa, with groundwater under heavy stress and canal water uneven. Water decides what a parcel is worth.

🌾 Cotton belt (Bathinda, Maur, Rampura Phul)

All India Radio reported on 10 June 2025 that Punjab's cotton area rose from 2.49 lakh acres in 2024 to 2.98 lakh acres in 2025, with Fazilka, Mansa, Bathinda and Muktsar the leading districts (AIR); it gave no district acreage. CGWB's district booklet gives a total cropped area of 556,000 hectares and a net sown area of 296,000 hectares, with arid brown and sierozem soils (CGWB; years not stated). Cotton income swings with the season, so one good year is a weak basis for a price.

  • Cotton
  • Canal irrigation
  • Tubewells
  • Arid brown soil

💧 Groundwater and canals

Statewide, CGWB's 2024 assessment gives a stage of extraction of 156.87% with 115 of 153 assessment units over-exploited (CGWB), and PIB reports 156.36% for the 2025 assessment (PIB, December 2025). For Bathinda itself the latest block table we opened is the CGWB district booklet, with data for 31 March 2011: a district stage of 119%, with Phul (255%), Maur (206%) and Bathinda (106%) over-exploited, Rampura (96%) and Nathana (84%) critical and Talwandi Sabo (79%) and Sangat (67%) safe (CGWB booklet). The booklet's summary and detailed tables disagree on some categories, and the data is old, so ask for the current block category and the borewell depth in the village. Canals irrigate far more land than tubewells here (219,000 against 76,000 hectares), so a "canal-fed" claim needs the water-course record.

  • Stage 119% (2011 data)
  • Phul and Maur worst
  • Canal tail-ends

🏭 Refinery, power and industry

The refinery at Raman Mandi and the closed thermal plant make Bathinda a district where farm income is not the only economy. Industrial neighbours can bring jobs and traffic, and also dust, tanker movement and pollution-control rules that matter near a farmhouse.

  • Refinery
  • Closed thermal plant
  • Traffic

☣️ Water quality

The Tribune reported in April 2025 that contaminated Harike barrage water entered the Sirhind Feeder Canal and affected Ferozepur, Faridkot, Muktsar and Fazilka for about a month (The Tribune). Bathinda was not among the districts named. Test drinking and irrigation water at the parcel and ask which canal supplies it.

📐 Measurement units

Convert every quote to acres before comparing offers: 1 kanal = 20 marla and 8 kanal = 1 acre (standard Punjab usage; no official conversion table was opened). Price a parcel on location, water and permitted use rather than crop income alone.

At a glance

Bathinda vs. its neighbours

District / beltCollector-rate newsEvidence
BathindaUp 5%; a further rise for some high-value areas awaiting approvalThe Tribune, Aug 2025
FaridkotNamed among 12 districts with rises of 5–50%; no figureSee the Faridkot page
BarnalaNamed among the 12; no figureSee the Barnala page
MansaNot named in the reportSee the Mansa page
MogaNamed among the 12; no figureSee the Moga page
Punjab, wider proposalPut on hold (Aug 2025)The Tribune, Aug 2025

Collector-rate news, not market prices; rates and proposals vary by locality. Bathinda has no sourced per-acre price. See the Mansa page for the next cotton-belt district, the Faridkot page for the canal-affected neighbour, the Moga page and the Sirsa page across the Haryana boundary.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Bathinda, Punjab

District report — Bathinda

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Bathinda

Six points that rest on location and projects, with an honest note that price evidence is thin and water and title carry the risk.

Big public assets inside the district

A refinery, a civil airport and the former thermal-plant site give Bathinda a base of public and industrial employment. That supports local housing and services, though it does not raise farm prices by itself.

Two road corridors

The Ludhiana–Bathinda highway restarted in March 2025 after a stall (The Tribune), and the Amritsar–Bathinda–Jamnagar corridor is partially completed (PIB, February 2024). Both improve access if delivered; neither has a sourced completion date for the Bathinda section.

No domicile bar

On the Act text we read, any Indian citizen may buy agricultural land in Punjab, so the buyer pool is wider than in Uttarakhand or Himachal Pradesh. A wide pool does not substitute for a clean title.

Collector rates are moving

Bathinda's rates rose 5% by August 2025 with a further rise pending, so registration costs can change before you sign. Check the village rate.

A buyer who documents water wins

CGWB's booklet classed the Phul, Maur and Bathinda blocks as over-exploited on 2011 data, and the 2024 statewide assessment found 115 of 153 units over-exploited. A parcel with a recorded water-course turn and a working tubewell is a different asset from one with only a seller's claim.

Farmhouse buyers: avoid unapproved plots

A farmhouse needs CLU and a legal road. Land sold as cheap "farm plots" from an unapproved colony risks title and registration problems; buy approved land or whole farmland and apply for CLU yourself.

Confirm title, land class, water access and approvals directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Bathinda

Read these before shortlisting in Bathinda specifically.

Over-exploited groundwater

Statewide, CGWB's 2024 assessment gives a stage of extraction of 156.87% with 115 of 153 assessment units over-exploited (CGWB), and PIB reports 156.36% for the 2025 assessment (PIB, December 2025). For Bathinda, CGWB's booklet put the district at 119% on 2011 data, with Phul, Maur and Bathinda blocks over-exploited. Ask for borewell depth, pump history and the current block category.

Volatile cotton income

The state's cotton area moved from 2.49 lakh acres to 2.98 lakh acres between 2024 and 2025 (AIR). Do not price a farm on a cotton year.

Plots from farmland

The NOC position has swung since 2024: registration without an NOC was allowed for a window, the High Court directed strict compliance in March 2025 and the state halted such registrations in May 2025, as reported. A plot without CLU and an approved layout may never be registrable on clean terms.

Collector rates in motion

Bathinda's rates rose 5% by August 2025 and a further rise awaited approval. Duty follows the higher of the deal value and the rate, so the cost can change before you register.

Defence and aviation limits

The airport's operational area is looked after by the IAF. We found no notification of height or land-use limits, so ask the administration before building near it.

Announced is not delivered

The highway stalled after contractors left over land delays and restarted in March 2025; the Bathinda section of the Amritsar–Jamnagar corridor has no sourced status. Price on today's roads.

No sourced price series

Without published comparables, collect registered sale deeds nearby before you negotiate.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & water offices

Mutation (intkal) and revenue-record matters go to the Tehsildar or Naib Tehsildar of the tehsil (Bathinda, Rampura Phul, Maur, Talwandi Sabo); the Bathinda district portal lists the district offices. Easy Jamabandi gives digitally signed jamabandi copies with a QR code and handles online mutation (The Tribune, June 2025). Sale deeds are registered at the Sub-Registrar office; we did not open any Punjab rate or registration page.

Change of land use goes to the development authority covering the village; we did not open PUDA's pages, so confirm which office issues the order for yours. Canal and water-course questions go to the Water Resources Department division for the canal, and groundwater questions to the groundwater cell. For any parcel near the airport or defence land, write to the district administration about restrictions before paying any advance.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Bathinda.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider or NRI buy agricultural land in Bathinda?

Yes for Indian citizens, on the texts we read: the Punjab Land Reforms Act, 1972 sets a holding ceiling (Section 4(2): seven, eleven or 20.5 hectares by land class) but we found no residence bar. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI's FEMA Master Direction. If you act through an agent, a general power of attorney does not pass title (Supreme Court, 2011); only a registered deed does.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: census figures reflect 2011, the latest full Census. The CGWB district block table is for 2011 and is dated. Road, airport and flight statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. The stamp-duty figures are the last published ones we found; no official current rate schedule opened. Collector rates and policies change by notification. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Bathinda farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Bathinda — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.