Farmland India
Aerial view of agricultural land and farm fields near Rupnagar, Punjab

District guide

Buying Land in Rupnagar

Open to Indian buyers within the Punjab ceiling, with forest-listed foothill land, Sutlej flood history, a stalled-then-revived Ludhiana–Ropar expressway and no sourced per-acre price series.

  • 2,056 sq km

    Area (district portal)

  • 6.85 lakh

    Population (district portal)

  • 26,338 hectares

    PLPA land in Ropar, Oct 2022

  • ~116 km

    Ludhiana–Ropar expressway (reported)

*Indicative range across districts and land types. Stamp duty, registration and conversion charges are additional. Local measurement units vary — every listing states the unit it is priced in. Not a valuation or an offer.

PLRS — Punjab Land Records Society

District land record — Rupnagar

Rev. 2026 · Farmland India desk

State

Punjab

Naming

Rupnagar, also written Ropar; one district, two spellings (the district portal is rupnagar.nic.in, press reports say Ropar)

Sub-divisions

606 villages on the portal profile; Rupnagar, Nangal, Sri Chamkaur Sahib and Sri Anandpur Sahib appear in portal notices, and the full tehsil and block list is not on the profile page (Rupnagar district portal)

Key markets

Rupnagar (Ropar) town · Morinda · Chamkaur Sahib · Anandpur Sahib · Nangal · Nurpur Bedi

Agricultural land

Open to any Indian citizen up to the Punjab ceiling; closed to NRIs and OCIs under FEMA

Demand anchors

Sutlej plain and Shivalik foothills · Anandpur Sahib and Nangal · Ludhiana–Ropar expressway (planned)

Rail

Not checked for this page

Size and population

2,056 sq km · 6.85 lakh people (6,84,627 on the district portal profile)

Pricing unit

₹/acre (village farmland) · ₹/sq yd (town plots)

Local units

Acre (killa) · Kanal · Marla (8 kanal = 1 acre; 20 marla = 1 kanal)

Land records portal

Punjab Land Records Society; Easy Jamabandi online records and mutation, launched June 2025 (The Tribune, June 2025)

District overview

Rupnagar — a Sutlej and Shivalik district, listed under two names

Rupnagar, long known as Ropar, is a Punjab district of 2,056 sq km and 6,84,627 people, with 606 villages, on the district portal's profile (Rupnagar district portal). The Sutlej runs through it: in July 2023 its tributaries inundated low-lying villages around Ropar and Anandpur Sahib (The Tribune, July 2023). Nangal and Anandpur Sahib are on the portal's notices, and the northern and eastern edge belongs to the Shivalik foothills. One naming note: press reports and brokers use both Ropar and Rupnagar for the same district, so material under either name belongs here.

As elsewhere in Punjab, we found no bar on a non-farmer buying agricultural land, and the Land Reforms Act ceiling is the only quantity limit we read. The real filters here are land use and forest status. The forest department's survey found 26,338 hectares under the Punjab Land Preservation Act in Ropar, so a cheap hill parcel may be land on which nothing can be built.

We publish no per-acre price for Rupnagar, because listing-site asks could not be traced to registered deals. One dated benchmark exists: The Tribune listed Ropar among 12 districts where collector rates rose by 5% to 50% by August 2025, without a district figure (The Tribune, August 2025). Check the village rate with the Sub-Registrar.

The public projects to watch are the Ludhiana–Ropar expressway, which the Tribune says would end at a junction with NH-205 near Bheora village in Ropar, and the four-laning of NH-344A from Phagwara to Rupnagar (The Tribune, December 2024; The Tribune, February 2023). See the Mohali page for the Chandigarh side and the Nawanshahr page for the road's other end.

  • Rupnagar (Ropar)
  • Morinda
  • Chamkaur Sahib
  • Anandpur Sahib
  • Nangal
  • Sutlej
  • Shivalik foothills
Locator map of Rupnagar district in Punjab

Transaction costs

Stamp duty & registration in Rupnagar

5%

Stamp duty (2017-18 audit rate)

current rate to confirm with the Sub-Registrar

6% / 4%

Men / women, as reported

press reports, 2018 and 2020

1%

Registration fee

capped at ₹2 lakh (2017-18 audit)

The Comptroller and Auditor General's report on Punjab's revenue sector records stamp duty on a sale deed at 5% of the higher of the deed value and the collector rate, a 1% social infrastructure cess and a 1% registration fee capped at ₹2 lakh, as in force in 2017-18 (CAG report, 2019). The Tribune says an earlier 3% cess was waived in July 2017 (The Tribune, February 2020), and press reports of 2018 and 2020 put the rate at 6% for men and 4% for women (The Statesman, June 2018). We opened no official current rate schedule and found no report of a change in 2025 or 2026, so treat these as the last published figures and confirm the current rate with the Sub-Registrar before budgeting.

Collector rates matter as much as the duty rate, and duty follows the higher of the deal value and the collector rate. The Tribune listed Ropar among 12 districts with rises of 5% to 50% by August 2025 and reported that a further statewide rise was put on hold (The Tribune, August 2025); it gave no Rupnagar figure and we found no village-wise list, so ask the Sub-Registrar of the tehsil. CLU and legal fees are extra. A woman buying in her own name gets a 2% rebate on stamp duty, or 1% on a joint registration, and a 2018 amendment reclaims it if the land passes to a male relative within a year (The Statesman, June 2018). The state also waived 2.25% in extra duty and fees for March 2023 only (The Tribune, March 2023), which shows that these charges move by notification.

Know the belt

What is moving prices in Rupnagar

Rupnagar is several markets: a town edge, village acreage on the Sutlej plain, and Shivalik foothills. There is no sourced price series, so the cards give dated facts and checks.

Prices: no sourced series

No per-acre band published

Listing-site asks for Ropar, Chamkaur Sahib and Morinda could not be traced to registered deals, and several printed per-unit figures did not match their totals, so we publish none. Use registered deeds and the village collector rate instead.

Check: registered sale deeds for the village, distance to the road and the Sutlej flood line.

Expressway land take

260 hectares for Package 1 (reported)

The Tribune reported in December 2024 that the 37.7 km Package 1 of the Ludhiana–Ropar expressway needed 260 hectares, that all of it had been taken over, and that farmers had stalled work on 9 October 2024 over compensation (The Tribune, December 2024). The report gives no per-acre compensation.

Check: whether the survey number is in a notified land-take list, which affects both land and compensation.

Plots and layouts

No plot price published

Plots in colonies without approval cannot be built on or financed easily, and The Tribune reported in May 2025 that the government stalled registration of plots without an NOC. A plot price says nothing about the layout's status.

Check: the approved layout, the CLU order and whether the plot is agricultural or residential in the records.

Hill and forest-edge land

26,338 hectares under the PLPA in Ropar (October 2022)

The Tribune's October 2022 survey figure for Ropar is second only to Hoshiarpur among six districts. Land under the Act can carry a construction and transfer restriction, so large low-priced blocks need a forest-status check before any price talk.

Check: the PLPA position in writing from the Divisional Forest Officer, and whether the seller can transfer the block.

Collector rates: Ropar in the 5% to 50% group

No district figure; August 2025 list

The Tribune listed Ropar among 12 districts where rates rose by 5% to 50% (13 August 2025). It gave no figure for Rupnagar, and we found no village-level agricultural rate for any tehsil. Collector rates are the floor for duty, not an indicator of market price.

Check: the current list for the village at the Sub-Registrar office.

Units: killa, kanal, marla

Village land is quoted per acre (called a killa locally) and small plots per kanal, marla or square yard. We use 8 kanal to an acre and 20 marla to a kanal, as in our Punjab state guide, and opened no official conversion table. Recompute any quote from total price and area before comparing two offers.

Connectivity

How Rupnagar connects — road, rail and air

Chandigarh is the main anchor. No road distance on this page is route-checked; only agency and press figures are shown.

By road

ChandigarhNot route-checked
DelhiNot route-checked
NH-344AFour-laning from Phagwara to Rupnagar announced in February 2023, hybrid annuity, ₹1,367 crore (The Tribune, February 2023)
Ludhiana–Ropar expressway116 km reported; ends at a junction with NH-205 near Bheora village (The Tribune, December 2024)

By air

Chandigarh airportTerminal at Jhiurheri, Mohali (The Tribune, September 2022); distance not route-checked

By rail

RailheadsNot checked for this page; confirm stations on Indian Railways

Read the Mohali page for the Kharar spur of the Ludhiana–Ropar expressway. Land on an alignment can be taken for the road, so ask NHAI whether a survey number is in a notified land-take list before paying an advance.

Growth catalysts

Upcoming infrastructure & developments

Status labels reflect sources read in October 2026. Announced timelines are not guaranteed, and items marked confirm rest on a single or old report.

00Confirmed operational

03Planned or status unconfirmed

Revived Dec 2024 · later status not found Ludhiana–Ropar expressway
Announced Feb 2023 · completion not confirmed Phagwara–Rupnagar four-laning (NH-344A)
Notified 2021 · outcome not found NH land-take notice at Anandpur Sahib
Revived Dec 2024 · later status not found

Ludhiana–Ropar expressway

A greenfield highway of about 116 km (as reported) from near Manewal village in Ludhiana to a junction with NH-205 near Bheora village in Ropar, with a 19.5 km spur from Pipal Majra to Kharar. The Tribune reported on 12 December 2024 that all land for Package 1 (37.7 km, 260 hectares) had been taken over; Package 2 is 47.24 km. Farmers had stalled work on 9 October 2024 over compensation and NHAI asked the contractor to resume. The original December 2024 deadline would be missed. We found no report after that (The Tribune, December 2024).

Source: The Tribune, 12 Dec 2024; confirm on NHAI

Length

~116 km (reported)

Cost (Pkg 1)

₹1,368.91 crore (Tribune)

Kharar spur

19.5 km

Status

Revived Dec 2024; confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rupnagar (Bheora end)
  • Kharar spur
Announced Feb 2023 · completion not confirmed

Phagwara–Rupnagar four-laning (NH-344A)

In February 2023 the Union Road Transport Minister announced a four-lane NHAI section of NH-344A from Phagwara to Rupnagar on a hybrid annuity basis at ₹1,367 crore, which the Ministry said would link Amritsar, Jalandhar and Chandigarh and serve Kapurthala, Ludhiana, Ropar and Mohali (The Tribune, February 2023). The report states no length or deadline, and we found no completion report, so treat the road's four-lane status as unconfirmed.

Source: The Tribune, 22 Feb 2023; confirm on NHAI

Length

Not stated

Mode

Hybrid annuity

Schedule

Not stated

Status

Confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Rupnagar
Notified 2021 · outcome not found

NH land-take notice at Anandpur Sahib

The Rupnagar district portal carries a Section 3D notification dated 9 July 2021 for land acquisition, with or without structure, on NH-21 from km 73.200 to km 82.000 at Sri Anandpur Sahib (Rupnagar district portal). We found no later report, so we cannot say whether the widening was built. For a buyer, land near the highway at Anandpur Sahib may be partly acquired.

Source: Rupnagar district portal, Section 3D notification of 9 Jul 2021

Stretch

km 73.2–82.0

Notice

9 Jul 2021

Status

Confirm

Land markets in the blast radius

  • Anandpur Sahib

Agriculture & terrain

Soil, crops & water in Rupnagar

A Sutlej plain with Shivalik foothills. Forest status and floods matter as much as soil, and we found no sourced crop table for the district.

🌾 Sutlej plain: Rupnagar, Morinda and Chamkaur Sahib

We did not find a district crop-area table, so crop mix is not stated; the jamabandi shows the actual crop history. Groundwater is the state-wide pressure point: CGWB's 2024 assessment puts Punjab's extraction at 156.87% of the recharge available, with 115 of 153 assessment units over-exploited (CGWB, December 2024), and the PIB reports 156.36% for the 2025 assessment (PIB, December 2025). We found no block-level category for Rupnagar's blocks, so look it up on CGWB.

  • Groundwater
  • Jamabandi

⛰️ Shivalik foothills: Anandpur Sahib and Nangal

The forest department's survey found 26,338 hectares under the Punjab Land Preservation Act in Ropar (The Tribune, October 2022). The Tribune describes the kandi belt as the lower Shivalik hills from Mohali to Pathankot and quotes the Forest Department calling the foothills ecologically fragile (The Tribune, November 2025; The Tribune, September 2025). Cheap hill acreage needs a forest-status check before anything else.

  • Kandi belt
  • PLPA

🌊 Sutlej floods

On 9 July 2023 low-lying villages along the Sutlej at Ropar and Anandpur Sahib were inundated, with the river reported at about 1,00,000 cusecs against a normal 12,000 (The Tribune, July 2023). On 15 July the paper listed Rupnagar among 15 flood-hit districts, with crops submerged and homes entered (The Tribune, July 2023). For the 2025 floods we have only state figures: the Ministry of Home Affairs told the Rajya Sabha that 40 people died and 14,065 houses were damaged, as reported by Punjab to 27 November 2025, without naming districts (MHA reply, December 2025). Check flood history and distance from the river and any headworks.

  • Sutlej
  • Flood history
  • Headworks

📐 Measurement units

Revenue records use acres, kanal and marla; plots are quoted in square yards. We use 8 kanal to an acre and 20 marla to a kanal, as in our Punjab state guide, and opened no official conversion table. Convert each quote to acres before comparing two offers, and value a parcel on location and permitted use rather than crop income.

At a glance

Rupnagar vs. its neighbours

District / beltCollector-rate movement*Source
Rupnagar (listed as Ropar)In the 5–50% group of 12 districts (August 2025); no district figureThe Tribune, August 2025
Nawanshahr10–30% (August 2025)The Tribune, August 2025; see the Nawanshahr page
MohaliNot compared hereSee the Mohali page
Fatehgarh SahibNot compared hereSee the Fatehgarh Sahib page
PLPA land in Ropar26,338 hectares (October 2022 survey)The Tribune, October 2022

Collector rates are the floor for stamp duty, not market prices, and the figures are not like-for-like. We publish no per-acre price series for any of these districts. See the Mohali page for the Chandigarh side and the Punjab state page for state-wide rules.

Farmhouse plot with boundary stones near Rupnagar, Punjab

District report — Rupnagar

Farmland India view

Why investors look at Rupnagar

Five reasoned points and one caution: the district rewards patient buyers who can read forest records.

Road plans that tie it to the Chandigarh side

The Ludhiana–Ropar expressway has a 19.5 km spur to Kharar in Mohali district (The Tribune, December 2024). We route-checked no distance and have no sourced price comparison with Mohali, so test any value argument against registered deeds.

Road projects that point at the district

The Ludhiana–Ropar expressway would end near Bheora village and a four-lane NH-344A from Phagwara was announced in 2023, but the expressway was stalled in 2024 and revived in December 2024, and we found no later status for either. They are reasons to watch, not proof of value.

The Sutlej and foothills

The Sutlej and the foothills give the district a weekend appeal. That demand is local, and flood and forest checks matter more than the view.

A thinly evidenced market

There is no sourced price series, so a buyer has to build one from registered deeds nearby. That takes time, and exits can be slow.

Eligibility is simple

We found no non-agriculturist bar in the Act text, so an Indian citizen can buy within the ceiling. NRIs cannot, so the buyer pool is domestic.

Caution: cheap often means restricted

The PLPA area in Ropar is 26,338 hectares. Ask for the forest department's position on any hill parcel before discussing price.

Confirm land class, CLU, PLPA and flood status directly; these are not certified by Farmland India’s review.

STRAIGHT TALK

Risks & challenges in Rupnagar

Read these before shortlisting in Rupnagar specifically.

Forest-recorded land

26,338 hectares in Ropar were listed under the Punjab Land Preservation Act in the October 2022 survey. Land under it can carry a construction and transfer restriction.

Foothill farmhouse policy

The one-acre Shivalik farmhouse policy of November 2025 covers only land excluded from the PLPA and needs a Forest NOC, and the Forest Department objected in September 2025. Do not pay for a promise of a permitted farmhouse.

Unauthorised colonies and CLU

Plots in colonies without approval cannot be built on or financed easily, and agricultural land needs a granted CLU before building.

Sutlej flooding

The Sutlej inundated villages at Ropar and Anandpur Sahib on 9 July 2023, and Rupnagar was among 15 flood-hit districts by 15 July. Check flood history and river distance.

Planned roads and land take

The expressway and highway widening acquire land, and farmers stalled Package 1 over compensation in October 2024. Ask NHAI whether the survey number is notified.

No sourced price series

Listing-site asks could not be traced to registered deeds and several printed inconsistent per-unit figures. Collect registered comparables.

Two names, one district

Press reports and brokers use both Ropar and Rupnagar for this district, so a search under one name misses some. Search under both.

Who to contact

Local revenue, planning & forest offices

Mutation and revenue-record matters go through the Tehsildar of the tehsil (Rupnagar, Nangal, Sri Chamkaur Sahib or Sri Anandpur Sahib on the Rupnagar district portal). Sale deeds are registered by the Sub-Registrar, and Easy Jamabandi, launched in June 2025, offers online records and mutation requests (The Tribune, June 2025). Change of land use and colony approvals sit with the competent planning authority; ask in writing which body issues the order for the survey number.

Forest status and PLPA position are confirmed by the Divisional Forest Officer for Rupnagar, and permission to build near Chandigarh comes under the 1952 Periphery Act and the 1995 town-planning Act (ask the Deputy Commissioner which applies). National highway land-take notices are published on the NHAI and district portals, and a notice such as the 2021 Anandpur Sahib Section 3D notification identifies the affected survey numbers.

COMMON QUESTIONS

Frequently asked questions

Everything buyers, NRIs and investors ask before their first reviewed farmland purchase in Rupnagar.

Visit full wiki

01 of 04

Can an outsider buy agricultural land in Rupnagar?

Yes, on the texts we read. The Punjab Land Reforms Act, 1972 caps what a family may hold (7 hectares of two-crop irrigated land, 11 hectares of one-crop irrigated land, 20.5 hectares of barani land), but we found no residence or non-agriculturist bar. NRIs and OCIs cannot buy agricultural land under the RBI's FEMA Master Direction. We read no amendments, so confirm any exemption with a Punjab revenue lawyer.

Transparency

Sources and references

Law and courts

Government

News

Further reading

Data-currency note: the district profile is the portal's own and gives no census year; the stamp-duty figures are the last published ones we found, and no official current schedule or village collector-rate list opened for us. Road statuses were read in October 2026 and change quickly. This is a general guide, not legal advice. Report inaccuracies to wiki@farmlandindia.com.

For developers

Ready to explore Rupnagar farmland?

Browse reviewed projects and individual land parcels across Rupnagar — or if you own land here, list it with platform review and reach serious buyers.

Farmland India ("the Platform"), operated by Bulk Procure Private Limited, is a digital marketplace for listing agricultural land, farmhouse and plotted development projects. The Platform is not a real estate broker, agent or intermediary under RERA or any other applicable law, and does not act for either party to a transaction.

Listings are submitted by developers, owners and their authorised representatives. Before publication, the Platform carries out a documentary review of the material supplied and records what was sighted. That review is limited to the documents made available to us at that time. It is not a title investigation, not a legal opinion, and not a warranty of title, approvals, or the accuracy of any information supplied by a lister. The Trust Score is an internal assessment produced from that review and is intended as a research aid, not as a guarantee of outcome.

Every buyer must carry out independent due diligence before any transaction — including verification of land records, encumbrance searches, approvals and regulatory compliance — through their own advocate and chartered accountant. Any legal or advisory professional introduced through the Platform is engaged directly by the user, on that professional's own terms; the Platform does not employ, supervise or accept responsibility for their work.

Nothing on the Platform is investment advice. Land values can fall as well as rise. The Platform is not liable for any loss, dispute or damage arising from a transaction between parties.